Post 6 – Interior Designer, Frank Lloyd Wright

Post 6 – Frank Lloyd Wright

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Frank Lloyd Wright was born Frank Lincoln Wright on the 8th of June, 1867 in Richland Centre, Wisconsin and died in Phoenix, Arizona on the 9th of April, 1959.

He was an American architect, interior designer, writer and educator, he designed more than 1,000 structures and completed 532 works. Frank had a philosophy called Organic Architecture, which he believed in designing structures which were in harmony with humanity and it’s environment.

His design Fallingwater (1935) was best exemplified by this philosophy, which has been called “the best all-time work of American architecture.” Frank was a leader of the Prairie School movement of architecture and developed the concept of the Usonian home, his unique vision for urban planning in the United States.

Franks work includes original and innovative examples of many different building types, including offices, churches, schools, skyscrapers, hotels and museums. Many of the interior elements of his buildings, such as the furniture and stained glass, Frank designed.

In the United States and in Europe, he was a popular lecturer, Frank authored 20 books and many articles. His colourful personal life often made headlines, most notably for the 1914 fire and murders at his Taliesin studio. Already well known during his lifetime, Frank was recognised in 1991 by the American Institute of Architects as “the greatest American architect of all time.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s